Board Recognition

Each Month the Board of Education recognizes excellence in our district.  

November 2018 

The Board recognizes the 2018 Lady Savage Softball team for breaking school History with their District Championship win! 
lady savage softball

October 2018 

The Board Recognizes Kristy Reedy for her work at SMS during Homecoming
The Board recognizes Shelly Logsdon for her work with the High School Math Curriculum and Canvas. 

September 2018 

The Board recognizes the District Reading Teachers. 

district reading teachers

May 2018 

The Board recognizes the following High School Students:

Debate State Qualifiers:

Katrin Hunter – Original Oratory

Alex Bowie – Story Telling

Noah Duncan – Lincoln Douglas Debate  

Debate National Qualifiers:

Nathan Davis – Lincoln Douglas Debate

Katrin Hunter – Original Oratory

Luca Freccia – Dramatic Interpretation


FCCLA STAR Events Gold Award Recipients:

Hallie Briner, Macey Bryson & Alexis Shipley – Chapter Service Project - Jr Division

Lauren Stafford & Kyra Rudel – Chapter Service Project - Sr Division

Hanna Bretz & Tage Young – National Programs in Action – Sr Division

Kavan Slagle – Entrepreneurship – Jr Division

FCCLA National Qualifiers:

Hannah Bretz & Tage Young – National Programs in Action

Ian Slagle – Spotlight on Projects

Ian Slagle – National Speaker for Kikkoman Japan Trip

April 2018 

The Board recognizes Jennifer Peterson and Susan Garrison for their years of service to the Savannah R3 Board of Education.  

March 2018

The Board recognizes Kaden Ehrhardt, Missouri State Wrestling Champion! Way to go Kaden!
ehrhardtehrhardt and coach

February 2018 

The Board recognized Stephanie Merrit for being voted Northwest Missouri Region Assistant Principal of the year by the Missouri Association of Elementary School Principals.

Stephanie Merritt

October 2017 

While the Savannah R3 Kitchens work hard all year long, Middle School and Minnie Cline kitchens were selected for the DESE Food Service Review this past month.  Both kitchens proved to be very efficient, and knowledgeable.  All their hard work is appreciated.  

minnie cline

middle school

September 2017

Two of our district staff have been nominated for Regional Teacher of the Year by the Northwest Missouri Association of School Administrators, Juli Higer and Cody Proctor.  The Board of Education applauds them both.  

August 2017

Savannah High School vocal music director, Krystal Thurm, was named MCDA Northwest District Director of the Year.  This award is presented to each district annually to an outstanding member of the Missouri Choral Directors Association.  

Jason Boyer, Travis Shewmaker, and Mark Schildknecht have taken on several large maintenance projects this summer.  We would like to take this opportunity to thank them for all of their hard work.  


Savannah High School would like to recognize the following students for their achievements: 
FCCLA Gold Award recipients at the National Competition for STAR Events in Nashville, TN 
Chapter Service Display- Gold 
Hannah Bretz
Tage Young 
tage young

Chapter Service Portfolio - Gold 
Camarie Slagle 

National Programs in Action - Gold 
Mia Silket 
Mya Nichols
Emily Heller

National Programs in Action - Gold 
Carissa Atkins
Madi Hausman

Ian Slagle, Winner of the Kikoman Scholarship $11,000 trip to Japan
Kikkoman Scholarship

July 2017 

Savannah High School would like to recognize Nathan Davis for finishing 2nd in the entire country at the National Speech and Debate Tournament! Way to go Nathan! 
Nathan Davis
Nathan Davis

June 2017 


The Board of Education would like to recognize the Savannah High School Scholar Bowl Team for taking first place in the State Tournament. Way to go! 
quiz bowl
quiz bowl

Darbie Valenti, Missouri Teacher of the Year, shared her experiences through the year with the Board.  Dyann Duncan presented Darbie with a ring from Josten's.  
Darbie Ring
Darbie Valenti

May 2017


The following High School students were recognized for their outstanding achievements:

Speech and Debate:
Allisen Hunter took 5th place in Prose
 Nathan Davis took 1st place (State Champion) in Lincoln Douglas Debate and qualified for Nationals. He is currently undefeated.
 Katrin Hunter qualified for Nationals in Original Oratory
speech and debate
speech and debate

Rhiannen Schneider was selected as a State Officer
 Dairy Foods Career Development Event Team took 2nd place in State: Stephanie Acton, Josh Hegeman, Rhiannen Schneider, and Hunter Valasek
 Dairy Foods Career Development Event Individual: Rhiannen Schneider took 5th place
 State Degree Recipients were: Kaitlynn Grider, Lauren Johnson, Rayne Wilson, Rhiannen Schneider, Hunter Valasek, Eli Trimmer, Jake Kennedy, Evan Schnitker
 The following groups received Group 1 Ratings at State Contest:
o Ag Mechanics Team – Evan Schnitker, Tyson Keller, Konor Simon, & Jackson Maize
o Soils Team – Tanner Herrod, Maddy Hausman, Samantha Taylor, & Brandon Culver
o Individuals – Seth Leader for Entomology & Jaqueline Dredge and Kaylee Banks for Floriculture.

FCCLA: Top Gold at State, Going on to Nationals in Nashville, TN:
 Chapter Service Display Senior Division – Hanna Bretz & Tage Young  Chapter Service Portfolio Senior Division – Camarie Slagle
 Nutrition and Wellness Senior Division – Ian Slagle
 National Programs in Action Senior Division – Mya Nichols, Emily Heller, & Mia Silkett
 National Programs in Action Sophmore Division – Carissa Adkins & Maddi Hausman DECA:
 International Qualifiers – Anakin Bush, Hannah Riekhof, Briley Jeter, Liz Everly, Anna Hill, and Nathan Davis

Band & Choir: The following students received a 1 rating at State:
 Brandon Carey, Trombone Solo
 Lillie Hegeman, French Horn Solo
 Brayden Blake, Vocal Solo
 Harley Orr, Flute Solo
 Ali Stevens, Marimba Solo
 Mackenzie Osborn, Vocal Solo
 Mackenzie Osborn, Shayna Portrey, & Natalie Smith- Vocal Trio

 Ian Slagle took 3rd in Mobile Application Development and also qualified for Nationals.