August 26, 2013

Minutes of the

Savannah R-III Board of Education

Central Office Meeting Room

Tax Rate Hearing: 6:00 PM - Open Meeting ~ 6:10 PM

August 26, 2013


Tax Rate Hearing Minutes


I.          President Kelly Houston called the Tax Rate Hearing to order at 6:02 PM.


II.        Summary of the tax rate hearing was reviewed by Dr. David Brax, Superintendent. 


III.       President Houston called for public comments – no one addressed the Board.


IV.       Mr. Schneeflock made the motion to establish the 2013-2014 tax rate of 3.9008.  Dr. Rosenauer seconded the motion.  Motion passed with a 5 – 0 vote.


V.        Ms. Peterson made the motion to adjourn to the open session meeting.  Mr. Vega seconded the motion. Motion passed with a 5 – 0 vote.   TIME:  6:08 PM


Open Session Minutes


I.          President Houston called the open session meeting to order at 6:08 PM. 


Members Present: Kelly Houston, President; Jim Vega, Vice President; Jennifer Peterson, Dr. Ken Rosenauer and Mark Schneeflock.


            Members Absent:  Susan Garrison and Linda Kozminski


Others Present:  Dr. David Brax, Superintendent; Dr. Tim Mattson, Assistant Superintendent; Janna Wuest, Board Secretary


II.        Consent Agenda:  Mr. Schneeflock made the motion to approve the consent agenda.  Dr. Rosenauer seconded the motion.  Motion passed with a 5 – 0 vote.


A.        Approval of the August 13th and August 16, 2013 minutes, as presented. 


B.        Approval of Bills Dated: August 26 -$723,085.74.

C.        Personnel: Hiring Recommendations:  Approved the hiring of Adam Clausen as a high school assistant football coach for the 2013 season since the Football Booster Club and Bantam Football will pay the salary. The following persons were also hired.


Extra Duty:  Carl Stafford – Play Director/Technical

                      Amanda Boyer – 9th Grade Sponsor

Substitutes:  Darci Feiden and Jennifer White


III.       Adjourn:  Ms. Peterson made the motion to adjourn the meeting.  Mr. Schneeflock seconded it.  Motion passed with a 5 – 0 vote.  TIME:  6:13 PM


________________________________________             ____________________________________

Kelly Houston, Board President                                             Janna Wuest, Board Secretary